Laila Shawa


part of Children of War, Children of Peace

Laila Al Shawa, born in Gaza – Palestine in 1946. Earned her Art degree in Leonardo Da Vinci’s Art School, Cairo – Egypt as well as Fine Arts degree and Art Diploma in Italy. She’s considered one of the most prominent Palestinian artists that for a certain period embodied and represented the Palestinian struggle and most particularly in her home town Gaza. Her depictions in “Walls of Gaza” carried what can be seen as a more serious approach to Pop art, using photographs and mixed media, creating artworks that would widely resemble a newly bred Intifada Warhol, sans the false colour manipulation of famous faces.

Shawa’s art includes general artistic views, yet always tend to be sharp and critical and mostly carries socio-political messages. One of her most controversial artworks would be the colourful “Impossible Dream” which raised debates on her possible criticizing to women who wear the veil and how it obstructs them from enjoying the simple ‘pleasures’ of life.

Impossible Dream

Laila’s quote on her art:

“I recorded a method of communication and punishments which have been sanctified by the (civilized world)…. I have to criticise what is around me through my painting. I don’t believe in painting butterflies and flowers and pretty things.”

13 Responses to “Laila Shawa”

  1. Indira Verdi Says:

    Hello,
    I am a 2nd year Fine Art student at university.

    My relates to issues concerning women in Gaza. The module for Thinking of Visual requires to make a contact with an artist who have a similar interest related to subject matter with art..

    I will appriciate if I could ask you some questions on your work, which will be a great help!

    With many thanks,

    Indira Verdi

  2. Indira Verdi Says:

    Hello,
    I am a 2nd year Fine Art student at university.

    My work relates to issues concerning women in Gaza. The module for Thinking of Visual requires to make a contact with an artist who have a similar interest to subject matter.

    I will appriciate if I could ask you some questions on your work, which will be a great help!

    With many thanks,

    Indira Verdi

  3. laila shawa Says:

    In response to Indira Verdi’s comment. Please contact me through my email address.
    Laila

  4. Amy Jones Says:

    I am a Senior at Berea College in Kentucky.

    I am very interested in speaking to Laila Shawa. I’m doing a research paper for my Islamic Art & Architecture class about her artwork, and would like to use her as a resource, if possible. If there is any way to get in touch with her, please let me know.

    Thank you,

    Amy Jones

  5. noora albuqaish Says:

    I am Noora Albuqaish from the Department of Cultural & information in Sharjah, UAE. I would like to invite you to participate in the Islamic Arts Festival which will take place from 8 December 2010 to 8 January 2011.
    please i need Laila Shawa contact to send her the invitation
    my best regards
    noora

  6. Dr. mariam khan Says:

    love ur art

  7. Alexander Chami Says:

    I am an old art school friend of Laila from: Leonardo Da Vinci.
    Would very much wish to send her my best wishes.
    Leila, your work is admirable and inspiring!
    Alex Chami

  8. nedaa Says:

    Salam, my name is Neda’a, and I am an art student in PTC for girls in Ramaallah, I am supposed to research a Palestinian artist and at least one of their paintings, I would love to ask Laila Shawa about some of her work, i tried many of the links available here and on other pages but did not succeed! Please help me, I need a working e mail or personal page. Thank you.
    Neda’a.

  9. Loubna Says:

    You do realise this is haram

  10. backlinks Says:

    You really make it appear really easy together with
    your presentation but I to find this matter to be
    actually something that I feel I’d by no means understand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely large for me. I am looking forward for your subsequent submit, I’ll try to get the grasp of it!

  11. Laila shawa | Bibliyo Says:

    […] Laila Shawa « Fann 3arabi | Arabic ArtJun 24, 2007 … Laila Al Shawa, born in Gaza – Palestine in 1946. Earned her Art degree in Leonardo Da Vinci’s Art School, Cairo – Egypt as well as Fine Arts … […]

  12. UFD Florist Says:

    Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my
    4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  13. Zaina Says:

    Could I please have your email address to contact you about some of your work? Thank you

Leave a Reply

